people

Andreas Döhler /

Andreas Döhler / 19

Andreas Döhler was born in Wermsdorf, the son of an agricultural economist and a farm machinery mechanic. During his studies of political science and sociology at the University of Leipzig, the American director Barbara Schneider struck up a conversation with him in a bar and later cast him in her production at the Leipzig Schauspielhaus. He quickly realized that acting would be his career. He applied to the Hochschule for Music and Theater 'Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy' in Leipzig and was accepted. There, Professors Katja Paryla and Mechthild Hauptmann, especially, encouraged him to understand his intensity and physicality as a means for bringing his characters truthfully to life.

From the very beginning, Andreas Döhler has understood acting as his means of artistic expression to grapple with the world and human existence. He consistently strives to give the human motives of his roles a realistic life of their own. In so doing, he has outstandingly well-functioning impulses that give convincing physical expression to his extraordinary performances. He is very well aware of his responsibility as an actor with an artist’s disposition - as a representative of the audience, to explore things that they cannot experience within societal conventions. Time and again, he pushes his acting to the limit for this, to call these very rules into question and transcend them.

Directors who have shaped and influenced contemporary theater, as well as representatives of the new German cinema were quick to notice his extraordinary acting ability. On stage, Dimiter Gotscheff, Frank Castorf, Michael Thalheimer, Nicolas Stemann and Sebastian Hartmann are the directors with whom he has enjoyed sustained and repeated collaborations at the Berliner Ensemble, Deutsches Theater Berlin, and the Thalia Theater Hamburg. In film, Andreas Kleinert, Christian Schwochow, Dietrich Brüggemann, Eva Trobisch, Florian Eichinger, Isa Prahl, Jan Bonny, Julian Radlmaier, and Miriam Bliese, among others, have cast him in their ambitious productions.

Andreas Döhler’s unique energy, which he wields very precisely with power and vigor, testifies to a dramatic range that the actor knows how to skillfully employ with delicate irony and youthful pleasure. In so doing, he does not shy away from showing his characters naked, bringing them to life in their total vulnerability and plaintiveness and, at the same time, endowing them with a stubborn dignity and resolve. Der Spiegel writes: 'In his films, Andreas Döhler acts with an intensity that takes your breath away. The shocks of his characters are so complete that, at first, words cannot describe them. In Döhler’s acting you can also recognize the disintegration of a male-defined self-image.'

people

Andreas Döhler /

Andreas Döhler / 19

Andreas Döhler wird in Wermsdorf als Sohn einer Agrarökonomin und eines Landmaschinenschlossers geboren. Während seines Studiums der Politikwissenschaften und der Soziologie an der Universität Leipzig wird er in einer Bar von der amerikanischen Regisseurin Barbara Schneider angesprochen und für ihr Stück am Leipziger Schauspielhaus engagiert. Schnell wird ihm klar, dass das Schauspiel sein beruflicher Weg ist. Er bewirbt sich an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater 'Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy' in Leipzig und wird angenommen. Dort sind es besonders die Professorinnen Katja Paryla und Mechthild Hauptmann, die ihn fördern, seine Intensivität und Körperlichkeit als Mittel zu verstehen, um Figuren wahrhaftig zum Leben zu bringen.

Von Anfang an begreift Andreas Döhler Schauspiel als sein künstlerisches Ausdrucksmittel, um sich mit der Welt und dem Menschsein darin auseinanderzusetzen. Immer ist er bestrebt, lebensnah den menschlichen Motiven seiner Rollen ein Eigenleben zu geben. Dabei hat er eine überdurchschnittlich gut funktionierende Impulsübertragung inne, die sein außergewöhnliches Spiel glaubhaft materialisiert. Seiner Verantwortung als künstlerisch arbeitender Schauspieler ist er sich sehr bewusst - Stellvertreter der Zuschauer zu sein, Dinge auszuloten, die sie innerhalb der Konventionen nicht erfahren können. Immer wieder geht er dafür seinem Spiel an die Grenzen, um genau diese Regeln infrage zu stellen und zu überschreiten.

Sehr schnell werden Regisseure, die das Gegenwartstheater gestalten und prägen, sowie Vertreter des neuen deutschen Films auf sein außergewöhnliches Spiel aufmerksam. Auf der Bühne sind es Dimiter Gotscheff, Frank Castorf, Michael Thalheimer, Nicolas Stemann und Sebastian Hartmann, mit denen es zu langanhaltenden und wiederholten Zusammenarbeiten am Berliner Ensemble, Deutschen Theater Berlin und dem Thalia Theater Hamburg kommt. Im Film setzen unter anderem Andreas Kleinert, Christian Schwochow, Dietrich Brüggemann, Eva Trobisch, Florian Eichinger, Isa Prahl, Jan Bonny, Julian Radlmaier und Miriam Bliese ihn für ihre anspruchsvollen Produktionen ein.

Andreas Döhlers einzigartige Energie, mit der er kraftvoll und mit Wucht sehr präzise spielt, zeugt von einer darstellerischen Bandbreite, die der Spieler geschickt mit einer feinen Ironie und einem jugendhaften Spaß zu versetzen weiß. Dabei scheut er sich nicht, seine Figuren nackt zu zeigen, sie auch in ihrer ganzen Verletzlichkeit und Kläglichkeit zum Leben zu bringen und ihnen zugleich eine unbeugsame Würde und Entschlossenheit zu verleihen. Der Spiegel schreibt: 'Andreas Döhler spielt in seinen Filmen mit einer Intensität, die einem den Atem nimmt. Die Erschütterung seiner Figuren ist so ultimativ, dass sie dafür zunächst keine Worte finden. In Döhlers Spiel ist auch der Zusammenbruch eines maskulin definierten Selbstbildes zu erkennen.'