people

Andreas Döhler /

Theater

Already during his studies at the Hochschule for Musik and Theater 'Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy' in Leipzig, Andreas Döhler was appearing at the National Theater in Weimar. Immediately after graduating, he was engaged at renowned theaters such as the Thalia Theater in Hamburg, the Deutsches Theater in Berlin, and the Berliner Ensemble.

From the very beginning of his career, directors who have significantly shaped contemporary theater noticed the special sincerity and physical intelligence that the actor knows how to use subtly and precisely. Repeated award-winning collaborations followed, with Dimiter Gotscheff, Frank Castorf, Michael Thalheimer, Nicolas Stemann and Sebastian Hartmann, directors with whom Andreas Döhler is frequently invited to prestigious theater festivals.

The actor knows how to combine seriousness and ease, body and emotion, humor and human tragedy smartly and masterfully - to such a degree that the audience has the feeling of being able to share the actor’s every thought and emotion. Theater heute writes: 'Andreas Döhler has a truly extraordinary physicality that - with all due caution with regard to audacious categorizing - can rightly be described as a unique characteristic. If you look at him closely, you sometimes have the feeling of being able witness a very special inside correspondence between the cerebral cortex and the nerves. Phenotypically - and in the most fascinating way - it almost seems as if Döhler’s body were stuttering. Whereby the reason, of course, is not due to any kind of impaired nerve impulse transmission, but - on the contrary - to an exceptionally well-functioning one. As if everything that wanders out of the head into the performing organs is critically tested one more time, at every synapse, for coherence.'

people

Andreas Döhler /

Theater

Bereits während seines Studiums an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater 'Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy’ in Leipzig spielt Andreas Döhler am Nationaltheater Weimar. Direkt nach seinem Abschluss folgen Engagements an so renommierten Häusern wie dem Thalia Theater in Hamburg, dem Deutschen Theater in Berlin und dem Berliner Ensemble.

Gleich zu Beginn seiner Laufbahn werden Regisseure, die das Gegenwartstheater maßgeblich gestalten, auf seine besondere Durchlässigkeit und Körperklugheit aufmerksam, die der Darsteller fein und präzise einzusetzen weiß. Es kommt zu mehrfach ausgezeichneten Arbeiten mit Dimiter Gotscheff, Frank Castorf, Michael Thalheimer, Nicolas Stemann und Sebastian Hartmann, mit denen Andreas Döhler immer wieder zum angesehenen Theatertreffen eingeladen wird.

Der Schauspieler weiß klug und virtuos Ernsthaftigkeit und Leichtigkeit, Körper und Emotion, Humor und menschliches Scheitern zu verbinden - bis zu einem Grad, bei dem die Zuschauer das Gefühl haben, an jedem Gedanken und jeder Gefühlsregung des Schauspielers teilhaben zu können. Theater heute schreibt: 'An Andreas Döhler fällt eine wirklich außergewöhnliche Körperlichkeit auf, die man - bei aller Vorsicht gegenüber waghalsigen Kategorien - mit Fug und Recht als Alleinstellungsmerkmal bezeichnen kann. Wenn man ihm genau zuschaut, hat man manchmal das Gefühl, einer sehr speziellen Insider-Korrespondenz zwischen Großhirnrinde und Nervenbahnen beiwohnen zu dürfen. Phänotypisch sieht das - auf die denkbar faszinierendste Art - ein bisschen aus, als würde Döhlers Körper stottern. Wobei der Grund eben gerade nicht in einer irgendwie gestörten Impulsübertragung liegt, sondern - im Gegenteil - in einer überdurchschnittlich gut funktionierenden. Als würde alles, was da aus dem Kopf in die Vollzugsorgane wandert, an jeder Synapse noch mal kritisch auf seine Stimmigkeit abgeklopft.'