people

Caroline Peters /

Theater

Caroline Peters studied at the Saarland State Academy for Music and Drama in Saarbrücken. Even while still at school, her fast-paced, on-the-spot acting attracted the attention of Andrea Breth who engaged her at the Berlin Schaubühne. Appearances at all of the important German theaters followed, including the tehaters in Cologne, Hamburg and Schauspielhaus Zurich, the TAT Frankfurt as well as Volksbühne Berlin. Since 2004 she has been performing at the Burgtheater in Vienna.

From the beginning of her career she has worked with directors who have significantly influenced the theater of today, including Barbara Frey, Dimiter Gotscheff, Karin Beier, Luc Bondy, Nicolas Stemann, René Pollesch and Simon Stone, with whom she continues ongoing artistic collaborations. They value the unique ability of the actress to move effortlessly between finely nuanced acting and a deliberate, impulsive demeanor. Her multifaceted performances bear witness to an intuitive understanding for the ambiguous, human motivations of the characters, which she also knows how to portray with an explosive power.

With her intelligent, ambivalent characters, Caroline Peters questions conventional boundaries. She transcends them, to find a contemporary immediacy in tone, and a direct connection to the audience. The actress is a master of timing in all genres. She changes effortlessly from sensitive observations to furious performances. The press celebrates the many dimensions of her acting in allowing her characters to come to life with intelligence and power. Her intense involvement with new forms of theater and contemporary texts have made her one of the most sought-after actresses in German-language theater. The Austrian magazine Profil writes: 'The German actress Caroline Peters is furiously working herself to the top of the great theaters.'

Her work for the theater has been honored many times. The prestigious theater magazine Theater heute named her 'Actress of the Year 2016' for 'John Gabriel Borkman' and 'Actress of the Year 2018' for 'Hotel Strindberg'. For 'Hotel Strindberg' she also received the renowned Nestor Prize in 2018 for her outstanding acting performance, with which she was honored a second time in 2020 for her roles in 'Schwarzwasser' (Black Water). The plays 'Das Werk / Im Bus / Ein Sturz' (The Work / In the Bus / A Fall) by Elfriede Jelinek, 'Hotel Strindberg' and 'John Gabriel Borkman' both from Simon Stone - as well as 'Sex nach Mae West' (Sex According to Mae West) by René Pollesch with her in the leading roles, where invited to the famous festival Theatertreffen in Berlin. Director René Pollesch shared the Mühlheim Dramatist Prize with her and the other actors, which they received for 'Capucetto Rosso' (Little Red Riding Hood) and 'www-slums'.

people

Caroline Peters /

Theater

Caroline Peters studiert an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater des Saarlandes in Saarbrücken. Schon während ihrer Ausbildung erweckt ihr temporeiches, präsentes Spiel die Aufmerksamkeit der Intendantin Andrea Breth, die sie an die Berliner Schaubühne engagiert. Es folgen Auftritte auf allen wichtigen deutschsprachigen Bühnen, unter anderem an den Schauspielhäusern Hamburg und Zürich, am TAT Frankfurt sowie an der Volksbühne Berlin. Seit 2004 spielt sie am Burgtheater in Wien.

Von Anbeginn ihrer Karriere arbeitet sie mit Regisseuren, die das Theater der Gegenwart prägen und verändern, unter anderem mit Barbara Frey, Dimiter Gotscheff, Karin Beier, Luc Bondy, Nicolas Stemann, René Pollesch und Simon Stone, mit denen es zu anhaltenden künstlerischen Zusammenarbeiten kommt. Dabei schätzen sie die einzigartige Fähigkeit der Schauspielerin, mühelos zwischen einem feingliedrigem Spiel und einem gezielt impulsiven Auftreten wechseln zu können. Ihre vielgestaltigen Auftritte zeugen von einem intuitiven Verständnis für die mehrdeutigen, menschlichen Beweggründe der Charaktere, die sie auch mit einer explodierenden Wucht zu zeigen weiß.

Caroline Peters stellt mit ihren klugen, ambivalenten Darstellungen die herkömmlichen Begrenzungen in Frage. Sie überschreitet sie, um eine zeitgemäße Direktheit im Ton zu finden und eine unmittelbare Beziehung zum Publikum. Die Schauspielerin ist genreübergreifend eine Meisterin des Timings. Mühelos wechselt sie von einfühlsamen Betrachtungen zu furiosen Auftritten. Die Presse feiert die vielen Möglichkeiten ihres Spiels, mit Intelligenz und Kraft ihre Figuren erstehen zu lassen. Ihre intensiven Auseinandersetzungen mit neuen Theaterformen und zeitgenössischen Texten machen sie zu einer der gefragtesten Schauspielerinnen deutschsprachiger Bühnen. Das österreichische Magazin Profil schreibt: 'Die deutsche Schauspielerin Caroline Peters spielt sich mit wildem Furor an die Spitze der großen Theaterhäuser.'

Ihre Arbeit fürs Theater wurde vielfach gewürdigt. Von der angesehen Fachzeitschrift Theater heute wurde sie als 'Schauspielerin des Jahres 2016' für 'John Gabriel Borkman' und 'Schauspielerin des Jahres 2018' für 'Hotel Strindberg' ausgezeichnet. Ebenfalls für 'Hotel Strindberg' erhielt sie 2018 für ihre herausragende schauspielerische Leistung den renommierten Nestroy-Preis, mit dem sie 2020 für ihre Rollen in 'Schwarzwasser' ein zweites Mal geehrt wurde. Die Stücke 'Das Werk / Im Bus / Ein Sturz' von Elfriede Jelinek, 'Hotel Strindberg' und 'John Gabriel Borkman' - beide von Simon Stone - sowie 'Sex nach Mae West' von René Pollesch mit ihr in Hauptrollen wurden zum renommierten Theatertreffen in Berlin eingeladen. Der Regisseur René Pollesch teilte mit ihr und den anderen Darstellern den Mühlheimer Dramatikerpreis, den sie für 'Capucetto Rosso' und 'www-slums' erhalten haben.