people

Anne Haug /

Theater

Already at a young age, Anne Haug performed in the Youth Club of the Basel Theater under the direction of Bruno Cathomas and moved on from there to the Junge Theater Basel. Her mentors encouraged her to pursue studies in acting, which she successfully concluded at the University of the Arts in Berlin. Throughout her career, she has always endeavored to use acting as a socially relevant art form, to take a position on the themes of today and shape them.

She began developing her own pieces early on. In so doing, long-term, creative collaborations were established with Antú Romero Nunes, Nora Abdel-Maksoud and her acting colleague Melanie Schmidli. Their joint theater series 'Projekt Schooriil' (Project Showreel) has been running successfully for many years and plays before sold-out houses in the German-speaking world. Anne Haug’s characters, both those she plays and those she writes in theater are unadjusted and do not strive for harmony. Transcending genres, the author and actress intuitively uses the possibilities of acting to bring humaneness credibly to life with the most diverse means, effortlessly moving from slapstick, comedy, poetry, and silence, to drama.

Her works, such as 'Past is Present' and 'Unruhig ist unser Herz' (Restless is Our Heart) have consistently been invited to renowned, international theater festivals, including the Belgrade International Theater Festival, Festival Politik im freien Theater, Le Festival Premières in Strasbourg, Le Standard Idéal Paris, and the Rencontres Théâtrales Lyon. In the meantime, Anne Haug’s transnational strategy to expand the classical repertoire with conceptual and performative means that are true to life have made her a central figure in independent theater today.

people

Anne Haug /

Theater

Schon in jungen Jahren spielt Anne Haug im Jugendclub des Theater Basel unter der Leitung von Bruno Cathomas und wechselt an das Junge Theater Basel. Ihre Mentoren legen ihr ein Studium zur Schauspielerin nahe, das sie an der Universität der Künste in Berlin erfolgreich absolviert. Während ihres gesamten Werdegangs ist sie stets bestrebt, Schauspiel als gesellschaftlich relevante Kunstform zu benutzen, um eine Haltung zu Themen der Gegenwart einzunehmen und zu gestalten.

Früh fängt sie an, eigene Stücke mit zu entwickeln. Dabei kommt es zu langanhaltenden, kreativen Kollaborationen wie mit Antú Romero Nunes, Nora Abdel-Maksoud und ihrer Schauspielkollegin Melanie Schmidli. Ihre gemeinsame Theaterreihe 'Projekt Schooriil' läuft seit mehreren Jahren erfolgreich und sorgt für ausverkaufte Häuser im deutschsprachigen Raum. Anne Haugs Figuren, sowohl die sie spielt, als auch die sie schreibt im Theater sind unangepasst und streben nicht nach Harmonie. Die Autorin und Darstellerin nutzt intuitiv genreübergreifend die Möglichkeiten von Schauspiel, um das Menschliche mit den unterschiedlichsten Mitteln glaubhaft zum Leben zu bringen - mühelos wechselt sie dabei von Slapstick, Komik, Dichtung, Stille bis hin zu Drama.

Immer wieder werden ihre Arbeiten zu renommierten, internationalen Theaterfestivals wie Belgrade International Theatre Festival, Festival Politik im freien Theater, Le Festival Premières in Strasbourg, Le Standard Idéal Paris und Rencontres Théâtrales Lyon eingeladen, darunter 'Past is Present' und 'Unruhig ist unser Herz'. Anne Haugs grenzüberschreitender Ansatz, das klassische Repertoire mit konzeptionellen und performativen Mitteln lebensnah zu erweitern, machen sie zu einer zentralen Figur des unabhängigen Gegenwartstheaters.